top of page

Post 3: Arrival of the First Scanner

After a week or two of watching the package slowly track across the USA, the first scanner (Apple Color OneScanner 1200/30) arrived. Along with it came two types of software: "OneScanner Dispatcher" and "TextBridge Classic." These were saved on floppy disks and had accompanying literature.

I set out to install my new scanner software but the first question was: which machine do I use? The specifications in the manual indicated that the software had to updated to version 7.5.5; however, the computers in the MAL don't indicate what version or update they have had until you explore a little. I first tried to install the scanner on a Mac Classic II given the vintage; yet, this did not work as the software had not been updated. I then attempted to install the software on a Macintosh Centris 610. It took several attempts of feeding the floppy disks and then opening the installation program for it to work. After installing and connecting the scanner via SCSI cable, the machine would not load the program. I therefore attempted to install the TextBridge Classic program, wondering if this would help. The TextBridge Classic program is OCR software designed to help the computer parse the scanned image. While the main program would not install immediately, I ended up manually installing individual parts until the main program would install. This was a process of approximately two hours. After installing all the software I finally opened the scanner program.

While open it gives the user several unique functions as well as the basic, expected ones. For example a person can choose to simply scan the image to the computer's hard drive, while it is also possible to scan an image directly to the modem thus allowing for the Internet transfer of images. All of this is possible through the large square buttons on the screen. Furthermore the OCR program is manually dragged and dropped into a plug-in bar on the screen. If the user wishes to utilize this function they must directly indicate so by clicking on it.

After exploring the program I was ready to scan. I clicked on the "scan" button which they prompted several choices about the size and quality of the image. After selecting the automatic prompts I pushed enter... and waited... I could hear the scanner attempted to move the image head but it sounded like it was stuck. An error message then manifested on the screen, declaring there was a paper jam. I then went to the settings and noticed several options including the variations of the 1200/30 available. After resetting it to the correct one again only to receive a different error message. This time the scanner is apparently not turned on, even though in reality it is and it is clearly receiving some sort of information. I changed SCSI cables to see if there was a problem in the connection of the port or cable. Changing cables did not help and I still received the same message. I tried different configurations and versions for fourty to fifty minutes but could not get the machine to scan the image and display it on the screen.

I have looked at online forums and this seems to be a common problem (among the 10 or so people who still use this scanner). Unfortunately, all of the Apple's documentation on it is missing or not posted on their website. Currently, I am still in problem solving mode.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page