top of page

Post 1: Finding Scanners

I have wanted to create an exhibit in the Media Archaeology Lab about scanners for quite some time. This seemed like the perfect opportunity. However, once realized the possibilities are overwhelming. Questions I was immediately faced with where: What scanners to focus on? How do I find them? What do I do with them?

I made a few decisions to begin with. First, due to the size of my budget I would only focus on flatbed scanners rather than drum scanners. While drum scanners were the first technology developed for digital image capture, they begin at moderate prices of $2000-3000. Furthermore, most institutions use flatbed scanners for day to day work and they were ubiquitious up until afforable image capture software and hardware for cellphones. This meant they had a daily impact on many people's lives around the world. Secondly, I wanted to purchase scanners that meant something or had a unique feature.

Beginning with googling "image scanners," I quickly learned that I would have to change my search parameters. I found most of the scanners by searching either for specific model numbers or using phrases such as "vintage" and "original" in my search terms. After locating 10-15 scanners I then looked for manuals online or forums that would aid in deciding which scanners to purchase. One of the first scanners I decided upon was the Microtek MSF-300G. This scanner was the first gray scale scanner to have a resolution of 300 DPI. This technology was revolutionary at the time and the changes to the resolution spurred further discovery and innovation in CCD technology.

Once finding a MSF-300G on Ebay, I noticed links at the bottom for other scanners. After emailing various market vendors and looking through manuals I decided on three more. I wanted to pick scanners that would be compatiable with the MAL's already existant technology so I cross referenced all the scanners with the current technology available.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page